Welcome to the New Haven Mayor's Office
Return To City Homepage Menu is below
  • InfoNewHaven
  • Return Home

  • Facebook

    Office Of The Mayor


    (5/2/2007) New Haven Residents Complete Program on the Ins and Outs of City Government

    NEW HAVEN- The Spring 2007 class of the Mayor’s Democracy School graduates today after completing a series of six classes. Democracy School sessions are intended to provide participating New Haven residents with information about their government and to open the lines of communication between City officials and the community. With the training they receive at Democracy School, graduates have the potential of becoming community leaders who help to spark constructive change throughout New Haven.

    Throughout the existence of this program, a total of 155 New Haven residents have completed the Democracy School curriculum. Participants experience presentations and question and answer forums with leaders of various city departments ranging from the police department to the elderly services to parks and recreation.

    “For most, this is just a preliminary step toward getting involved in the New Haven city government in a meaningful way and in making a difference in the community,” said Mayor John DeStefano, Jr. “Alumni from this program go on to serve their ward committees, community management teams, block watches, the Civilian Review Board and become more active with the Board of Aldermen. The measure of a healthy society is its sense of community empowerment. This program has proven very effective in giving people the tools necessary to create change.”

    Mayor DeStefano’s Democracy School has also gained significant support from the business community. The following restaurants donated food to the Democracy School: Abate Apizza & Seafood, Bangkok Garden, BAR, Geppi’s, Pad Thai, Royal Palace, Sandra’s Place, Vito’s and Zoi’s on Orange.

    The 2007 Democracy School Graduating Class includes:

    Aaron Goode, Ami Parekh, Angela Watley, Barbara O’Brien, Beth Klingher, Carol Nardini, Cindy Mariani, David Goldberg, Diana Limoncelli, Edward J. Maher, III, Elba Franklin, Jane Rushmore, Jay Sokolow, JR Logan, Kate Landon, Leanne Davis, Lori Kozlowski, Mercedes M. Soto, Molly Crichton, Norma Beamon, Richard K. Cowes, Semi Semi-Dikoko, Seth L. Poole, Tia Blassingame, Tomi Veale and Allan Chen.



    Contact Name: Jessica Mayorga

    Contact Email: jmayorga@newhavenct.net

    Contact Phone: 203-946-7660

    Return to Previous Page

    Click To Visit The Mayor
    Mayor At Gay Pride 2014
    Toni Harp Campaigning
    State Of The City 2014
    Footer For City Site
    Residents | Visitors | Business | Online Services | Q&A | Guide to New Haven | Government | Forms Central | Calendars | Emergency Info
    Any comments/suggestions E-mail the Webmaster for the City of New Haven or contact the Mayor's Office, 165 Church Street, New Haven CT 06510, Telephone 203-946-8200.
    New Haven City Seal