Welcome to the New Haven Civilian Review Board
Return To City Homepage Menu is below
  • InfoNewHaven
  • Return Home

  • Search Our Site
    transparent image for spacing

    Civilian Review Board

    Date: 12/8/2011
    Title: Hall of Records, 200 Orange Street, G2-Hearing Room (lower level)
    Description: Meeting was called to order at 6:03 p.m. Chairman Barbara Carroll

    A. Roll Call:
    11 Present: Bianca Bowles, Barbara Carroll, Frank Cochran, Catherine Gootkin, Wayne Hobbs, Leslie Radcliffe, George E. Carter, Robert Spirito, Maureen O’Sullivan, Evelise Riberio and Shirley Wayne – Washington.
    0 Absent:
    Staff: Reginald Thomas, Manager CRB Services
    Guests: Police Chief Dean Esserman, Lieutenant Anthony Duff, OIC Internal Affairs, Assistant Chief Petisia Adger, Professional Standards, Kathleen Foster, Corporation Counsel, Ann Massaro, Jack Gootkin.

    B. Review of Minutes
    October minutes - Motion to accept minutes by R. Spirito, seconded by Shirley Wayne Washington approved with one abstention.
    November minutes - Motion to accept minutes by Shirley Wayne Washington, seconded by Wayne Hobbs; passed unanimously.

    C. Review of Agenda
    Motion to accept Agenda by Bianca Bowles, seconded by Wayne Hobbs; passed unanimously.

    D. Internal Affairs Update
    Lieutenant Anthony Duff OIC, Internal Affairs passed out Civilian Complaint report the following: Seven (7) Civilian Complaints were closed and fourteen (14) cases were received in November.
    Case 100-11-C was reopened by Chief Esserman.
    The move to 200 Orange Street has been put on hold.

    G. New Business
    Maureen O’Sullivan raised an issue regarding CRB membership not following Connecticut state statute 9-161(a) and New Haven Code of Ordinances Title 1, Article X Sec. 56(c) regarding political party membership; 9 year maximum on any Board.
    After a brief discussion, Frank Cochran made a motion to table membership issue seconded by Shirley Wayne-Washington; passed with one opposed and one abstention.
    Ballots were passed out to members, Ann Massaro collected ballots. There was an issue with a couple of ballots that invalidated the election. Maureen O’Sullivan requested that the results were read.
    Reginald Thomas read the election results:
    Chairman Frank Cochran 7 Bob Spirito 1
    Vice- Chair Wayne Hobbs 6 George E. Carter 2
    Secretary Shirley Wayne Washington 4 Maureen O’ Sullivan 4

    Chairman Barbara Carroll made a motion to have new vote, seconded by George E. Carter; passed unanimously.

    Results of the second election as follows:
    Chairman Frank Cochran 9
    Vice- Chair Wayne Hobbs 6 George E. Carter 3
    Secretary Shirley Wayne Washington 6 Maureen O’ Sullivan 3

    H. Panel A & B reported that all cases assigned were read. Closed cases were assigned to reading panels. With resignation of Vice Chair last month, Chair suggested that Panels be reassigned with new year.

    G. BOPC Report: Evelise Riberio reported that Chief Esserman will be attending his first Board of Police Commissioners meeting on Tuesday Dec, 13, 2011 at 6:00 P.M.
    Motion to adjourn by Catherine Gootkin; seconded by Maureen O’ Sullivan; unanimous approval.

    Adjourned at 7:06 P.M.

    Return to Previous Page

    Click To Visit The Mayor
    Open Day (4/26/10) of Metropolitan Business Academy
    Pilot Pen Tennis Tournament
    City Hall Clock Tower
    Footer For City Site
    Residents | Visitors | Business | Online Services | Q&A | Guide to New Haven | Government | Forms Central | Calendars | Emergency Info
    Any comments/suggestions E-mail the Webmaster for the City of New Haven or contact the Mayor's Office, 165 Church Street, New Haven CT 06510, Telephone 203-946-8200.
    New Haven City Seal