Welcome to the New Haven Building Department
Return To City Homepage Menu is below
 
  • ONLINE SERVICES
  • FORMS
  • CALENDARS
  • EMERGENCY INFO
  • InfoNewHaven
  • Return Home
  •  

  • Eco Dev Department



    Search Our Site
    transparent image for spacing

    New Haven Building Department

     


    James Turcio
    Building Official



    email jturcio@newhavenct.gov
    200 Orange Street,
    5th floor Room 501 & 502
    New Haven, CT 06510
    Tel. (203) 946-8045
    Fax (203) 946-8049

    The Building Department enforces the State Building Code and ensures that properties are safe for residents of the City.  The Building Department is an important tool of blight reduction as inspectors identify blighted buildings in need of demolition, as well as illegal apartments or occupancies.

    The Building Department is also instrumental in creating an environment in which high quality construction and development can occur in New Haven’s neighborhoods.  The Building Department is focused on customer service and providing the best possible advice and inspection services to homeowners, contractors and developers. 

    In addition to the issuance of building permits, this Department is responsible for the processing of the following permits and/or licenses:  plumbing and mechanical permits, electrical permits, demolition permits, sign permits, rooming house licenses, street vendor licenses, broker licenses, amusement licenses, outdoor seating, parking lot/garage licenses, sales licenses, managing itinerant licenses, excavation license/permit, sidewalk license/permit, street and sidewalk obstruction permit, dumpster permit, block party permit, pay telephone permit, sandwich board permit, etc. 

    Permit Applications
    Assessment Deferral Information

    Staff Directory

     

    Building Inspectors


    James Turcio, Building Official
    Email: JTurcio@newhavenct.gov 
    203-946-8045
    Daniel O'Neill, Deputy Building Inspector
    Email: DOneiII@newhavenct.gov 
    203-946-8048
    Robert Walsh, Building Plans Examiner
    Email: RWalsh@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-6125
    Frank Bellonio, Assistant Building Inspector
    Email: FBellonio@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-8039

    Michael Corbett, Assistant Building Inspector
    Email: MCorbett@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-5895
    James Eggert, Assistant Building Inspector
    Email: JEggert@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-7592
    Karl Auer, Assistant Building Inspector
    Email: KAuer@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-8041

    Demolition


    Jose Romero, Demolition Officer
    Email: JRomero@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-7730

    Trade Inspectors


    Electrical

    Electrical Inspector
    203-946-7594
    Gerald Bennett, Assistant Electrical Inspector
    Email: GLBennett@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-2826

    Plumbing & Mechanical

    Michael Rispoli, Chief Plumbing/Mechanical Inspector
    Email: MRispoli@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-8038
    Ramon Velez, Assistant Plumbing/Mechanical Inspector
    Email: RVelez@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-7595

    Administration


    Dennice Pair, Executive Administrative Assistant
    Email: DPair@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-6127
    Salina Manning, Administrative Assistant
    Email: SManning@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-8045
    Jamie Hudson, Clerk Typist
    Email: JHudson@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-8043

    Crystal Vazquez, Program & Fiscal Coordinator
    Email: CVazquez@newhavenct.gov
    203-946-7012
    Permit & License Center (Vendors)
    203-946-8388

    Permit & License Center (Contractors)
    203-946-5758

        

    go to top




    Click To Return To City's Home
    Neville Wisdom
    Gateway Community College New Haven Campus
    ‘Q Bridge’ project ahead of schedule
    Footer For City Site
    Residents | Visitors | Business | Online Services | Q&A | Guide to New Haven | Government | Forms Central | Calendars | Emergency Info
    Any comments/suggestions E-mail the Webmaster for the City of New Haven or contact the Mayor's Office, 165 Church Street, New Haven CT 06510, Telephone 203-946-8200.
    New Haven City Seal